Boardsort.com

Your complete E-scrap resource website. LEARN - SELL - PROFIT
It is currently Wed Jun 28, 2017 1:28 am


Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 8:35 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:00 pm
Posts: 32
I think this one is telecom but the rectangular box had a heat sink on it and says lucent so don't know if I need to take that off or not?


Attachments:
File comment: Back
1431434010027-1681436671.jpg
1431434010027-1681436671.jpg [ 3.5 MiB | Viewed 709 times ]
File comment: Front
1431433909437-112072681.jpg
1431433909437-112072681.jpg [ 3.62 MiB | Viewed 709 times ]
File comment: Back
1431433819072932134210.jpg
1431433819072932134210.jpg [ 4.19 MiB | Viewed 709 times ]
File comment: Front
1431433687497-1564309310.jpg
1431433687497-1564309310.jpg [ 4 MiB | Viewed 709 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 9:11 am 

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:57 pm
Posts: 3069
Location: Low DOS
...6671 is peripheral

The other is telco.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 9:45 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:00 pm
Posts: 32
Thanks lost you are on your game I was hoping for confirmation of what I thought


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 3:16 pm 

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 8:24 am
Posts: 4
Location: Wasilla, AK
Be sure to remove the battery on the board in the last picture. (9310.jpg) It is a black box on the top left with "Dallas" on the top. Darn things are hard to spot sometimes. Also, both boards do have a lot of tantalum caps on them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 4:37 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:57 pm
Posts: 3069
Location: Low DOS
That Dallas chip is not a battery . It's a static memory unit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 6:58 pm 

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:00 pm
Posts: 32
I didn't think it was the bottom looks like a lot of legs soldered in like a ic chip


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 7:14 pm 

Joined: Tue Feb 03, 2015 6:57 pm
Posts: 3069
Location: Low DOS
That's exactly what it is. Static ram is many little modules in a single unit.
Actually if you are any good with a heat gun That's something that when cleanly removed goes well on eBay. 5-10+ .


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 10:05 pm 

Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2014 8:24 am
Posts: 4
Location: Wasilla, AK
The last couple of Dallas clocks I cut open had a round battery just like those seen on most computer motherboards. It had lots of pins like an IC but the battery made up most of the space inside the unit.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Tue May 12, 2015 11:30 pm 

Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:53 pm
Posts: 359
I am pretty sure you will get telecom for both. When I have taken stuff like that into them in the past they told me not to worry about the metal boxes like the second board has... the big thing for them is the heat sinks and batteries have to be removed.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: telecom?
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 8:20 am 

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 3:00 pm
Posts: 32
Thanks mis26 the little board has the chip on it so I did not know


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 12 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Jump to: