Welcome to Boardsortâ„¢ - Learn - Sell - Profit -

Learn to properly Sort, Sell, and Profit from your electronic scrap material.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:48 pm

Post subject: Copper Heat Sink
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 9:28 pm 

I'm brand new to e-scrapping and using boardsoart and I am assembling my first box to send. I have some of these heat sinks which I believe are copper because they are very dense/heavy. However the legs appear to be aluminum and maybe underneath the cpu might be a piece of aluminum. Does anyone have experience with this and does Boardsoart pay the full copper value?

picture share

Of course the fan will be removed. Sorry the picture is bad but my lighting sucks

Post subject: Re: Copper Heat Sink
PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 10:41 pm 

I don't think you'd wanna waste shipping on copper. I live an hour away, It would make sense for me to sell them driving there, but to mail out a piece of copper, I wouldn't. Actually you'll get more at your scrap yard. I've not run across many copper heatsinks really, but save those for the local scrapyard, I would.

PostPosted: Sat Sep 06, 2014 11:21 pm 

Take a flat head screw driver and pop off the cpu, it will sell as green fiber with metal.

For the legs on the heatsink, I normally break em off with either pliers or vise grips, they are steel legs. Once they are removed, you get full copper price at the scrapyard.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:02 am 
Reputable Seller

When I was at boardsort earlier this year, Chris said that they do not make a whole lot selling aluminum and copper purchased from their customers. Their main focus is on e-waste.

PostPosted: Sun Sep 07, 2014 9:04 am 
Reputable Seller