Welcome to Boardsortâ„¢ - Learn - Sell - Profit -

Learn to properly Sort, Sell, and Profit from your electronic scrap material.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 9:01 am

PostPosted: Thu Apr 09, 2015 9:12 pm 

hey guys how are you today, i am new to E scraping and i was wondering if anyone can give me ideas or how to's on scraping laptops and desktops? what should i keep and what should i bring to my scrap yard?

PostPosted: Fri Apr 10, 2015 1:06 pm 
Reputable Seller

The best resource on scrapping electronics I have seen is the Mike the Scrapper channel on Youtube. Mike has done a couple plugs for boardsort in his videos, but he also has one on identifying board types. Depending on where you are located, many of your lower grade boards can be sold to your local scrap dealers who buy e-waste. If nobody in your area buys e-waste, you can look up a more recent video made by Mike the Scrapper on harvesting the metals and IC chips off lower grade boards and only selling the IC chips to boardsort while selling the metals to your local scrap dealers.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 12:08 am 

In my opinion, laptops are not worth the effort. I just remove the memory sticks and sell whats left to any number of buyers for .80 - $1.50 per pound. Send me a PM for more info.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 30, 2015 8:05 am 
Site Admin

I've yet to find anything below midgrade in a laptop.
The real question is what is your time worth. The more you do it the faster and easier it gets.
5 years ago i would take down a laptop in about an hour. Today they take less than 10 minutes.
What you often find is a ain board. 1-4 ram cards. A wifi adapter or network /modem card.
On higher end models you may have a separate video card and a replaceable cpu board.
Then you have the drives and screen.

The first thing to do is look up the value of the laptop. Even damaged or totally dead they're probably worth more as a whole unit.
If you break it down look up the part numbers