Welcome to Boardsort™ - Learn - Sell - Profit -

Learn to properly Sort, Sell, and Profit from your electronic scrap material.
It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 10:51 pm

PostPosted: Wed Sep 25, 2019 2:23 pm 

This is my first post. I've posted this same question on a few other boards and have been banned for it. I think maybe the question was taken out of context. I am asking this with regards to research. I am just a hobbyist when it comes to gold scrap. If this question is against the forum's rules, I apologize.

Where can I source large quantities of material?

I have previous experience with freight brokering. I was trying to apply my experience and knowledge with freight and shipping to the scrap metal industry. I'm not interested in becoming a broker, but rather interested in locating brokers that deal with scrap or a B2B platform or marketplace for sourcing large quantities of e-scrap material. I found a website called Tradefox, which was previously Scrap Connection, but it seems to be a fairly new company. The website was shoddy at best with no Demo of their software, and that was a turn off for me.

With freight brokering it's always networking that is the issue, from carriers to shippers. I figured it was probably the same with this industry: hours and hours of emails and phone calls and dead ends. On DAT's load boards it's fairly rare to find loads of scrap metal when scouring through the tens of thousands of loads posted every day. Being a hobbyist, I started to wonder why. I have tried looking around websites like Alibaba for leads as many companies listed on the site deal in tonnage, but it is a clustered mess. There are some other scrap trading websites that I located, but I think most of the businesses on those sites offering materials are scammers. At least that was the conclusion that I came to after digging around.