Welcome to Boardsort™ - Learn - Sell - Profit -

Learn to properly Sort, Sell, and Profit from your electronic scrap material.
It is currently Thu Mar 28, 2024 1:30 pm

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2021 8:09 pm 

Hello Boardsort.

I am just starting out and wanted to know your opinion on shipping Low-Mid grade boards. Is it worth it based on your experience? If not, should I attempt to harvest any parts on these boards before taking them to the local scrap yard?

Kind regards

PostPosted: Tue May 04, 2021 9:41 pm 
Site Admin

Based on the current, and now sustained, price of 50č per lb, the real answer is do you have enough to drive the price of shipping down.

We have one current member who LTL hauls and is offering low rates. If they don’t reply I’ll see if I can dig their number out of their previous posts.

Give the other users a chance to reply before you start picking apart boards.
There’s at least one driver and another has played with it.

If it comes to pulling it apart you have a few things to go after. Copper is obvious. Loos wires. Copper transformers.

It’s the easiest rip and go material.
Remove any ICs.

Beyond that your local yard(s) is the decision factor. If you can sell whole boards and don’t have the time, take the cash and move on.
But you can strip a board bare and make bank on it if you have a buyer for everything.
Even low grade boards. You have rare earth minerals, cobalt, nickel, brass, copper, tin, lead, gold, it’s all there. For the over achiever.

Most people use a knife or box cutter. Dangerous to fingers but relatively easy.

Power chisels are also popular. Not so dangerous (use goggles though) but much more destructive. Small things are lost with this method. Like palladium CMCs and Tant.